Cutting away….

I’ve been trying make my work have a 3D effect by layering up different styles of work along with transparent materials.  I wanted to develop this idea futher so I’ve took the leap of cutting up a design!  The chosen one is this 1 meter digital print because it looks completely flat as it is….

image

I wanted to try something different to what I have tried previously. I decided to cut away most the design to leave an outline of another; I chose the gas lamp print as I also wanted to see if I could manipulate this in a different way to what I have already tried.  So,  I drew out the design and started cutting!

image

It left some interesting marks… 

image

So far I can see how it’s going to come together when layered ontop of a screen print…

image

But you’ll have to wait to see the finished result! 

Leave a comment